Individual Artist Fellowship Program

March 1 Deadline

Review the Fellowship Guidelines

Cash awards are made to individual artists in the visual arts based on merit of work, career achievement, career potential and service to the state. This component provides awards to recognize artistic excellence as well as professional commitment and maturity and contributes to the further development of the artist and the advancement of his or her professional career. Applicants are encouraged to be as specific as possible about the proposed use of fellowship funds in order to illustrate the seriousness of their professional intent. Fellowships are competitive. Quality of work and professionalism as determined by samples of work and narrative are particularly important. Provide samples of the highest quality work completed within the last five years.

Fellowship applicants must be legal residents of Alabama for a minimum of two years prior to the application deadline, and are expected to maintain residency during the grant award year (Oct. 1 - Sept. 30). Artists who have previously been awarded a fellowship are eligible to apply for a second fellowship six years after their first fellowship. After an artist has received two fellowships, they are no longer eligible to apply.

Types of Fellowships

Visual Arts includes painting, sculpture, printmaking, book arts, and experimental and conceptual approaches.

Craft includes work made using clay, fiber, glass, leather, metal, paper, plastic, wood, or mixed media.

Media and the Gay Burke Photography Fellowship includes film, audio and sound installations, video, experimental technology and work created using computers or other digital technology as the primary expressive vehicle.

Supplemental Materials

Be prepared to submit the following with your application:

  • Descriptions of work sample, with medium and technique described
  • Photographs of 10 examples of work from the past 5 years (Detail shots can be included, but no more than ten images will be accepted)
  • Artist CV