The Distinguished Artist Awards

The Distinguished Artist Award is recognition by the Council to a professional artist who is considered a native or adopted son of Alabama and who has earned significant national acclaim for their art over an extended period.

  • Jim Nabors, Honolulu/Sylacauga
  • William Christenberry, Washington, D. C.
  • Frank Fleming, Birmingham
  • Fannie Flagg, Fairhope/Los Angeles
  • Albert Murray, New York, N.Y.
  • George Lindsey, Jasper/Nashville
  • Nall, Troy/Fairhope
  • Beth Nielsen Chapman, Montgomery/Nashville
  • Rebecca Luker, Birmingham/New York
  • Rick Bragg, Piedmont
  • Dr. Everett McCorvey, Montgomery/Lexington, KY
  • Eddie Floyd, Montgomery